The Echoing Halls

Soon I’ll be gone,
but I leave you these walls.
In them I created
these rooms and long halls.
In rooms I created
bold lovers with flaws.
And in time they created
a love in us all.

Soon I’ll be gone,
but I leave you these things.
In them I created
the darkness in dreams.
In dreams I created
landscapes of mirage.
And the imps that still limp
through these echoing halls.

Soon I’ll be gone,
but I leave you these words.
Some leaden, some flighty
like southerly birds.
Some broken and twisted
and baring their claws.
But most of them empty
like echoing halls.

One thought on “The Echoing Halls

Leave a Reply

