A Road-bound Diamond

I saw a diamond on top of a hill,

and I climbed higher.

I reached for that diamond,

and instead of giving up,

I climbed higher.

After frozen time and forgotten fingers,

I touched that diamond,

And it told me something.

It told me that all of my dreams

Were the things of movies, of stories,

Of myths;

It told me that the things I felt

Were the things born, gestated, in memory,

In a simple fascination culminated in desire;

A bloated realization that the things I loved

weren’t real (that she wasn’t real); only a mirage steaming from a road

paved from a material stronger than the hardest metal,

but something less than a shimmering, road-bound diamond.

Leave a Reply

