The Island

by Stephen Paden

I do not like this island
where nothing grows, not even trees;
surrounded by seas of salt;
the winds so rough,
bringing ruin to a broken heart where nothing has ever grown.

I do not like the sea
where nothing lives, not even fish;
surrounded by emptiness;
the salt so thick,
bringing thirst to a burning heart that had no love to begin with.

I do not like the sunrise,
where nothing bathes, not even me;
contained in a rocky cave;
the sun so harsh,
bringing sores to an empty shell that try to cover the scars from years before.

But I do love the sunset,
where I emerge from darkness into a soothing light;
surrounded by glimmering reflections;
the air so cool,
bringing life to a burning soul where love begins to grow.

Leave a Reply

