I Miss Gregg

I married her on the 10th of April,

after stealing her from Indianapolis and all of her friends and family.

“It’s a mistake,” echoed the chorus.

We didn’t care what they said.

And then it began:

I should have known something was wrong

when I nearly broke my neck falling down the stairs at the courthouse.

I should have known something was wrong

when I found her in her craft room, crying.

I should have known something was wrong

when I felt love for the first time in 20 years.

But we shrugged it off, both of us riddled with a terrible flu,

for the next few weeks.

And then it happened: we recovered from the flu!

So naturally, to finally celebrate our first normal day as husband and wife

we sat in the living room, ready to talk.

Her face turned sour and her mouth turned down,

she uttered those three words I will never forget:

“I miss Gregg.”

One thought on “I Miss Gregg

Leave a Reply

