Pills and Wine

by Stephen Paden

I killed myself
With pills and wine
To ease this fucking pain

I killed myself
With trust and love
Both covered with bloody stains

I killed myself
As you can see
With pills and pinot noir

I killed myself
In the living room
You won’t have to look far

I understand
If you don’t know
The reasons for my death

But if you knew
The entire truth
You’d try to catch your breath

This note is not
A tell-all tale
I’ll take it to my grave

But let these words
Remind you of
Someone you’d want to save

Leave a Reply

