The Clown

by Stephen Paden

My mask is not my paint
nor is it the suit or the big red nose
it’s something I hope you never see

My laugh is not my happiness
nor is it the voice of my soul
it’s something I hope you never hear

My smile is not the mood I’m in
nor is it a reflection of how I see the world
it’s something I hope you never feel

My mask hides some things
my desires, my hopes, my failures
My laugh hides many things
my shyness, nervousness, and fear
My smile hides other things
my pain and suffering
But the clown itself hides everything
so I can disappear

2 thoughts on “The Clown

Leave a Reply

