The Descent

by Stephen Paden

Alone against the howling winds
I stand now at the edge
in emptiness I cannot see
what down there lurks and waits for me
the dark without an end

Alone against the empty sea
the ocean of my heart
where never exists a solid ground
just water where my soul could drown
and finally depart

Alone against the sullen sky
I walk along the ledge
a path that leads down to the sea
(it seems like it was made for me)
now fills my heart with dread

Alone against the narrow cliff
the jagged rocks like teeth
they bite and stab my skin and soul
but down I find I have to go
to find out what’s beneath

Alone against the barren shore
the sand just as the sky
so dreary, dull, unwelcoming
a joy this beach could only bring
to someone such as I

Alone against the empty sea
the ocean of my heart
where waves of pain endlessly roll
just water where my empty soul
can finally depart

Leave a Reply

