The End of Things

This has been a terrible year, personally. I won’t get into the details, but it just sucked. One thing that has helped me get through it is writing. But, here’s the problem with that.

I write from a very dark place. While it quelled the inner shit for a short time (almost like a high feeling after every poem), it had long term effects and threatened to take me down further than I already was. And let’s face it, no one likes reading about flowery unicorns riding rainbows.

I’ve decided to quit writing. And I am much, much happier. One novel is enough for me. I have other things I would like to do with my life.

I might occasionally squeak out a poem here and there, but you will not see the torrent of the past few months again.

Thank you all for following my poetry. I really appreciate the comments and suggestions.

Stephen

5 thoughts on “The End of Things

  1. Damnit, Stephen! I want to know more about Maggie. And Blue Annie! One novel is not enough! You were born to write.

  2. Wait until you get in a better place, I totally understand that. But don’t give up on it completely. Your characters are so compelling. Your plot twists are intriguing. Redemption and resilience and hope, allow that to creep into your writing.

  3. Surprised you want to quit writing… maybe a reprieve until you feel more balanced. At any rate, a different genre may help. And some people DO like reading about rainbows and unicorns. As long as at least one of the unicorns is evil.

Leave a Reply

