The Moment

by Stephen Paden

I woke up this morning
I was ready to go
You rolled over and slipped into evening

“don’t be obtuse,” you said, I
Didn’t refuse the message you had prepared
I was leaving

Everyone sighed as your words
Danced in the night
The message that you would soon be leaving me

It was a shock and surprising
As the message arrived
After noon left the evening sun bleeding

People took pleasure that the
Day folded in
It was time to prepare for the emptiness

It was a calm desperation
That consumed this nation
That the world posed again for this photograph

No picture sooths
I am ready to move
It is time to let go of the wheel

There is no way to prove
That the infinite rules
Break away from the life meant to steal

Leave a Reply

