Abby’s Journal – 4/24/2016

Today was a good day. I figure that the first step in all of this is to get healthy, lose weight, and make sure that I am fit for the changes to come. I realize that hormones add weight, but I can mitigate what I can.

I told a few more people, and have yet to meet resistance. Some people get it, and it really helps. It also helps that I have a lot of liberal friends. It is ironic; I have fought with these people in the past over politics, religion, etc…, and now I find myself on the same side. Fiscally, we don’t agree. Emotionally and from a human perspective, we do. There is a basic way of treating people, and I haven’t seen the GOP doing well at that lately.

Enough about politics.

I took another step and changed my Facebook information to reflect who I am: Abby, female. It was surprisingly easy to do (mentally and technically). While I don’t look anything like an Abby or a female, it isn’t about that. It is about how I feel and identify. For the first time in a very long time (decades), I feel good. I know the hardest parts lie ahead, but I do have amazing support from family and friends. I am lucky.

This still isn’t easy for me. I am fighting years of programming.

Good thing I am stubborn. 🙂

— Abby

Leave a Reply

