Sidewalk Streams

by Abby Paden

I am the pain on the street
the blood in the gutter
the placenta dripping loosely
from the alley-ridden mother

I am the blood in your mouth
the life that spills out easily
the dreams that escape in the light of day
while reality breaks through so dreamily

I am the pulse of the road
the once-remembered knight
now, hiding deep below
I weep in darkness, and curse the stinging light

I am the stone that stretches
into veins of a larger heart
binding glamour, alley wretches
No memory near, no memory far

I am the pain on the street
the blood, now sidewalk streams
I am the heart of unseen beauty
the red and lifeless dreams

Leave a Reply

