Dead Girl

By Abby Paden

I am spread thin
Across a vast desert
Vein-stretched canyons
Carry a voiceless wind

My bones brittle
Sun-stained and dried
A wind-whistled tune
Fading into eternity

He told me he loved me
The one with the Camaro
From daddy’s money
And mommy’s drinking

One night under the moon
With stars blazing white fire
And the sun’s fire gone
my love taken, not made

I spread my wings
For final flight
Across the canyon
where bones now dream

their slumber restless
a symphony’s rage
my thundering heart
beats the sand

and day after day
my broken bones
further stretched by wind and beast
and I’ll dream until there are no dreams

 

Leave a Reply

